anachronisms and anomalies in the law; the reflection in and by the law of the distinctive concepts and institutions of the common law and civil law legal systems in Canada, and the reconciliation of differences and discrepancies in the expression and application of the law arising out of differences in those concepts and institutions; the elimination of obsolete laws; and the development of new approaches to and new concepts of the law in keeping with and responsive to the changing needs of modern Canadian society and of individual members of that society. The Law Reform Commission reports to Parliament through the Minister of Justice.

Library of Parliament. The Library of Parliament was established by an act in relation to the Library of Parliament (SC c.21) now the Library of Parliament Act (RSC 1970 c.L-7). This library had been formed initially by the amalgamation of the legislative libraries of Upper and Lower Canada following their unification as the Province of Canada in 1841. The Library of Parliament is designated as a department within the meaning and purpose of the Financial Administration Act, the Parliamentary Librarian holding the rank of deputy minister. The Parliamentary and the Associate Parliamentary Librarians are appointed by the Governor in Council. The Parliamentary Librarian under the Speaker of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Commons, assisted by a joint committee appointed by the two Houses, is responsible for the control and management of the library including the Confederation Branch Library, the Parliamentary Reading Room and the Confederation Building Reading Room. Persons entitled to borrow books from the Library of Parliament are the Governor General, members of the Privy Council, members of the Senate and the House of Commons, officers of the two Houses, judges of the Supreme Court of Canada and the Federal Court of Canada, and members of the Parliamentary Press Gallery. The library serves the Senate and the House of Commons in both reference and research capacities, and is responsible for all books, paintings, maps, and other library effects in the joint possession of the Senate and the House of Commons. The library indexes Senate Committee Minutes of Proceedings and Reports, provides an extensive clipping service to Parliament and is also the public's information centre for parliamentary information. Its collection is accessible to other libraries through interlibrary loan.

Loto Canada. Established June 29, 1976 by Appropriation Act No. 4, 1976 (SC 1974-75-76, c.103) Loto Canada, Inc. is a Crown corporation which began operation in September 1976 on the termination of the Olympic Lottery. It manages and conducts a lottery, primarily to assist until the end of 1979 in financing the deficits of the 1976 Olympics at Montreal and the 1978 Commonwealth Games at Edmonton. A small portion of the net revenue is divided among the provinces (12.5%) and the federal government (5%). The corporation consists of a board of directors of up to seven members representing all regions of Canada. Its head office is at Ottawa. The corporation reports to Parliament through the Minister of State for Fitness and Amateur Sport.

Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board. The Machinery and Equipment Advisory Board, established in 1968, is responsible for considering applications for remission of duty on machinery and equipment classifiable under Tariff Items 42700-1 and/or 41100-1 and for advising the Minister of Industry, Trade and Commerce as to the eligibility of such machinery for remissions according to the provisions of these two tariff items. The board is composed of a chairman and the deputy ministers of Industry, Trade and Commerce, Finance and National Revenue. It is assisted by the branches of the Department of Industry, Trade and Commerce concerned with individual industries, including machinery manufacturing. The objective of the Machinery Program, which is administered by the board, is to increase efficiency throughout Canadian industry by enabling machinery users to acquire advanced equipment at the lowest possible cost while at the same time affording tariff protection on machinery available from production in Canada.

Medical Research Council. Established in 1969 and operating under authority of RSC 1970, c.M-9, the council is a departmental Crown corporation of the federal government. It is composed of a president, a vice-president, and 20 members. The primary aim of the council is the support and development of research in the health sciences in Canadian universities and affiliated institutions. It reports to Parliament through the Minister of National Health and Welfare.

Merchant Seamen Compensation Board. The board is established by authority of the Merchant Seamen Compensation Act (RSC 1970, c.M-11, as amended) and reports to the Minister of Labour. The three members are appointed by the Governor in Council. The board meets, as required, to adjudicate claims for compensation made by injured seamen employed on ships registered in Canada when they are not entitled to workmen's compensation under any provincial Workmen's Compensation Act or the Government Employees Compensation Act.

Metric Commission Canada. The commission was established by Order in Council PC 1971-1146, June 1971. It consists of a full-time chairman and up to 20 part-time commissioners, all of whom are appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of three years. An executive director acts for the commission in directing the full-time staff.